Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the post reads I am a full-on newbie to this forum and to lever guns.I should pick up my new 336SS in 30-30 this coming week. Along with it comes a Weaver base and med. rings, Nikon 3-9x40 scope and 60 rds of leverevalution ammo!! I am truly exited, being this is a new gun avenue for me.

I am a collector, hunter and like to compete in numerous competitions when I have time.I am a member of a number of forums and realize what a WEALTH of knowledge that each offers.

Is there anything in particular about this new rifle that I need to know, tips, tricks, etc that I could benefit from? Special lube points or mods that everyone does right off the jump? I'm open and can use all the help I can get. Thanks to you all!!!! Jim aka SYBO

PS, I have plans for this to be a Hog gun real soon!!!!

·
Registered
3,037 Posts
Welcome aboard to the forum and grats on your new rifle. I think you'll be very pleased.

·
Premium Member
5,925 Posts
Welcome to MO's! 8)

You might want to reconsider getting "low" rings for that levergun.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Congrats, hope you get a hog soon :)

·
Premium Member
2,537 Posts
I would only suggest you fire about a box of ammunition through your new rifle before you get in a hurry to mount your scope. IF it should need any tinkering or minor adjusting, it is a lot easier to do if you don't have to risk damage to the scope by leaving it on during the adjusting phase.
Remember too, pictures and a range report are almost mandatory. Good luck with your rifle.
Welcome to MO from west Texas. Shenandoah

·
Premium Member
5,925 Posts
Do you live in hog country or are you just planning a trip?

Either way we like pics of dead hogs (and the rifle used) with the hunt details here on this forum!!!

·
Registered
274 Posts