Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took my new 1895 GBL to the range today with some hand loads.
Starting with IMR 4198 I loaded:
34 - 38.5 gr. in 1/2 gr. increments. with new Starline brass , Fed 210 primers and Oregon Trail Laser cast 405 gr. bullets.
35 gr. did the best out of the 4198 loads , about 1 1/4 " at 50 yd.
I also loaded some with Reloader 7 , same components but the powder charges were from 39-41.5 in 1/2 gr. increments.
39.0 did the best out of that group at 1 1/2" at 50 yd.
Everything else was horrible.
I think I might try loading down a little bit and see what happens.
A little background:
I have been shooting seriously for 20 years , everything from .223 to .338 Lapua Mag.
This is my first lever gun.
I have not shot with iron sights in a long time.
I am having a hard time getting adjusted to the 10 lb. trigger on the Marlin.
But besides a sore shoulder I had a blast.
I'm looking forward to going tomorrow after work.
I also appreciate all the info. I have been able to find here.
Thank You.

·
Registered
195 Posts
Put a spring kit and wild west trigger in that thing to tame the trigger pull.
I don't own a 1895 yet but I do own an 1894 .44 mag and the harder I push jacketed bullets, the worse the grouping, the harder I push cast bullets, the tighter the grouping. I don't know what size bullet your shooting but you might want to got up .001 and see how that works, or better yet, slug your bore.

·
Registered
441 Posts
I took my new 1895 GBL to the range today with some hand loads.
Starting with IMR 4198 I loaded:
34 - 38.5 gr. in 1/2 gr. increments. with new Starline brass , Fed 210 primers and Oregon Trail Laser cast 405 gr. bullets.
35 gr. did the best out of the 4198 loads , about 1 1/4 " at 50 yd.
I also loaded some with Reloader 7 , same components but the powder charges were from 39-41.5 in 1/2 gr. increments.
39.0 did the best out of that group at 1 1/2" at 50 yd.