Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
394 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
A bit of back story on my hunt for a rifle.
Since I started shooting I considered the BDL 700 to be the most attractive stock rifle you could get. About a decade ago I was offered a BDL in .270 from a shooting mentor of mine when he fell ill, however I moved away and his son sold it before I could purchase it.
Since then I've looked for them and they either come when I have no cash or are priced just above my price range.
So about a month ago I walk into my favorite shop and spot a used BDL in 30-06, I already shoot 30-06 so it's perfect, priced at 599. I handle it but don't have the cash and the over time hours haven't been easy to find recently so I head out. I keep checking over the following weeks that its still there, making call talk and buying ammo.
So last Friday I get an email from Armslist, a guy wants to trade for my 30-06 marlin that I'd listed a couple months back and forgotten about; his kid found his pistol and his wife gave him the choice of get rid of the pistol or else. so he trades me his new Glock 26 with extra magazine and holster for my rifle I paid 350 for. I already have a carry Glock so I pop this pistol on arms list and sell it the next day. Waltz into the shop and tell them Im putting the Remington on layaway. The clerk laughs and says she's seen me pick that gun up for the past month and wondered when I would take it home. The shop owner tells me he'll take some money off of the list price since I'm a regular. He asks how much I'm putting down and I tell him $450. he looks at me, crumples the layaway tag up and says "You owe me 30 bucks next time your in, go shoot it this weekend"
I didn't get to shoot it yet and I told him today when I payed him the other 30 that I was going to get a correct size recoil pad he offered to get the replacement pad ground by his smith for no charge.