Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a older unfired TC hawken .50 at a show and was hoping for some advice on propellant. I plan on shooting a patched ball.
Some guys I know use ff . I know a few other shooters that use fff and some that swear by 777.
Please give me some advice as I'm new to this . I've loaded BP cartridge for some years but the ml is new to me ... I know there's lots of experience here.
Thanks.

·
Registered
784 Posts
You can use loose 777 but back off about 10% and as for pellets they are made for inline shooting irons
And JohnD13s BP load is a good one somewhere between 80-90 go is good shooting loads and easier on shoulder than 100-120gr

·
Registered
8,280 Posts
I have been using Blackhorn 209 in my 50 cal inline and in my opinion it is the cats meow. Clean up is a snap with Hoppes and a couple of passes with the patch. Velocity is great with the Blackhorn. It is a little more expensive than the others.

·
Registered
2,847 Posts
Inlines, pellets okay.

Hawkens is a sidelock, no pellets. Loose powder is the way to go.

.40 caliber and less, FFFG, Greater than 40 caliber, FFG.

Remember, black powder is corrosive, if you don't clean it immediately after shooting it will start eating your bore. I'd try T7 and see if it works. It is noncorrosive, water clean up. I believe T7 is designed to be the same as FFG powder. It should work.

V

·
Registered
4,710 Posts
Welcome to the sport of muzzle loading Hobby shooter. TC is a great ML to start with. You can't use pellets because of the breech on that Hawken. It has a chamber smaller than the bore so the pellet will not be anywhere near the flash from the cap. This chamber is difficult to clean as your regular Jags will not go down it either. A .30 cal bore brush wrapped with patches will usually get to the bottom of it. Oil can accumulate in it and give you fits getting the first round to go off.