Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
18,030 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been bragging on my 336C in 35 Remmy for a couple years now, but the last time at the range the accuracy was awful, 3" groups at 50 yards. It has NEVER shot poorly, so I tore it completely apart tonight and cleaned it from stem to stern. I got a lot of copper out of the barrel with Wipeout and a lot of scrubbing, but the odd thing was that there was a TON of unburned PISTOL powder in the action, all over the place. Like a pistol load had lost the bullet and the powder had poured out into the action. And yes, it was unburned, very obviously. Pretty weird. I'm going to try the proven loads again next week, but I think the scope may have finally given up. I'll know more next week, but the other thought is that it's not the gun, it's ME. I shot my 1894/44 Mag this week, and it was also scattering shots with unproven, experimental loads. All the screws were tight, scope mounts and barrel bands and everything else, I'm still scratching my head over this one.

Aside from the scope, is there anything that will make a rifle suddenly go south? I can't think of anything else to check!

Papajohn

·
Registered
25,048 Posts
Humidity and heat affect them too.... if you cleaned it that good you will have to foul the barrel again some to get the accuracy back.. and you could have had too much coffee that morning.. all things come into play.. yep the scope could have went belly up too..

·
Registered
1,110 Posts
a good cleaning....even though you've done it before....try it AGAIN....this time with Sweets ...and be careful with the Sweets. After cleaning my 35 Remington 336 a number of times, the Sweets did the job. Also clean the action...and then re-foul the gun by shooting....mine went from tumbling every bullet that wasn't a 150 gr. to shooting everything and accurately, as well. BIG difference now!!