Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Marlin Owners forum and was wondering how to tell if the 1895 I have purchased is a true pre-Remington gun. It is an 1895 sbl with JM stamped on the barrel, but the serial starts with 91xxx. I have done some research and found that even though it has the JM stamp it still could be a "marlington"? Does anyone have any guidance for me? Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

·
Premium Member
2,388 Posts
I think you got one just as the plant was moving... how's the fit and finish (how the would matches up to the metal and such)? I have an STBL from the same time frame. Had some minor issues but all resolved.

·
Premium Member
2,388 Posts
Post pictures and take them close up. Everyone here enjoys pictures. I picked up a Remlin and the dipstick at the counter started telling me their quality was better now at the new plant. I held it up to the light were you could see daylight where the stock met the receiver and said 'yeah, right'. Handed it back to him and just shook my head.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Post pictures and take them close up. Everyone here enjoys pictures. I picked up a Remlin and the dipstick at the counter started telling me their quality was better now at the new plant. I held it up to the light were you could see daylight where the stock met the receiver and said 'yeah, right'. Handed it back to him and just shook my head.
Are you talking about the very front edge of the stock? There is supposed to be a tiny gap on both sides so the corners dont get chipped off from recoil. Even so I dont think it will be any time soon before Remington starts making a decent rifle.

As far as a JM stamped SBL I have seen a couple online and here on the forum but they seem to have made a very small number of them. The ones I have seen look to be of the same quality you would expect from an old school Marlin.

·
Banned
1,519 Posts