Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
"Dreaded Marlin Jam" Fix: Local Gunsmith vs. Factory Service

I'm new to lever guns and new to the forum but have enjoyed reading it.

Thought I found a good deal on a used, pre-safety 1894 ser#260xxxxxx. Bought it, fired a few rounds of .44 mag and .44 special and all was ok.

Loaded up 9 rounds of .44 special and tried to cycle them through the action. Locked up tighter that any firearm jam I ever had. Round was half in and half out of the mag tube. Looking on this forum saw the posts about the dreaded Marlin Jam and it's fixes. Cleared the live rounds out by removing the lever but boogered up a couple of screws doing it as I didn't have the right screwdrivers but did not want to keep the rifle around with live rounds jammed in it.

Went to the links about the Dreaded Marlin jam and I think I want to go the new carrier assembly route and have the gun gone over and put it functional, reliable shape.

Should I find a local gunsmith to do the work or send it to the factory? Does the "new style" Marlin carrier eliminate the "Marlin Jam"? Can anyone tell me what year this rifle (ser# 260xxxx) was made? Any other advice on making this rifle as reliable as possible?

I really like this rifle design/envelope but this has been very disappointing.

Thanks

·
Registered
567 Posts
Re: "Dreaded Marlin Jam" Fix: Local Gunsmith vs. Factory Service

Before you make any decisions, take some dummy rounds in .44 Mag and see if they will cycle thru.

Here's the deal. Your timing appears to be better set for longer rounds like the .44 Mag. Putting shorter .44 Spl rounds in it will cause that jam.

In my opinion, that rifle should run .44 Spl and .44 Mag without any issues. But, I'm afraid until something is done to correct the timing, those shorter rounds are gona continue to be an issue.