Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1979 GMC K10 shortbed and in the near future will be looking to change the gearing to something around a 3.73 or maybe a 4.11 ratio. What I would like to know is if the ring and pinion parts are the same for the front and rear? It would make sense that they would be the same part numbers, but I have not dealt with them to know. So, are they the same or are they different parts?

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
Num 1 Dad, I am no expert but I believe GM vehicles used a smaller front ratio than the rear. Seems like it was something like 3.07 front 3.08 rear. Others will chime in.

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
I googled Napa site and there is a difference from the front and rear. However its the ring size 8.50 front 8.60. Most GM vehicles use Dana differentials. I once changed a 1975 Chevy Camaro gear ratio from 3.08 to 3.73.That really spruced up the cars performance and was a good all around gear choice. It had plenty of low end and top end performance. I had it installed and had purchased an after market set. The problem was an annoying whine that never could be removed. I had two different mechanics try to shim, or adjust it, the whine remained. I would use factory parts if available. My problem could have been a one in a hundred situation. Don't forget to replace the speedometer gear set also. Got a speeding ticket like that once. Other's will answer with better imfo. and may question tire size you plan to run and may even advice a lower gear.

·
Registered
395 Posts
In most trucks the front and rear diff's are different, due to the sixe of the axles, so they would have different part numbers
Most Gm trucks in your yr would have same gear ratio's front and back, but again, they would be different part numbers
as the rear ends , front/back would be different

·
Registered
225 Posts