Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got an 1894c in .357 that I plan to use mainly on deer.
Due to lack of good hunting ammo in the stores I have to start reloading.
I was planning to use Hornady XTP, should I use 158 or 180gr ?
Are there much differense in trajectory between these bulletweights when loaded hot?

·
Premium Member
5,222 Posts
Our previous resident expert, Jerry Lester would prefer the Remington 158 Soft point over anything else. No hollow points (Remington). The Hornady 158 HP should serve you well. You'll get maximum velocity with Little Gun at 19gr. of so which is one gr. over max for Hodgdon, but has been pressure tested by Brian Pierce. The 180's do not do the cartridge justice unless you''re going to try hard cast of which I have some experience. They work very well.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dr. A said:
Our previous resident expert, Jerry Lester would prefer the Remington 158 Soft point over anything else. No hollow points (Remington). The Hornady 158 HP should serve you well. You'll get maximum velocity with Little Gun at 19gr. of so which is one gr. over max for Hodgdon, but has been pressure tested by Brian Pierce. The 180's do not do the cartridge justice unless you''re going to try hard cast of which I have some experience. They work very well.
Thanks.

wreckhog said:
I think that it would be far easier to order one box of JSP loads than to start reloading.
I wish I could but it seems like it aint a option.

·
Registered
6,670 Posts
I've had great success with the Winchester 145gr Silvertips. But all my sources for those have pretty much dried up to the point that I'm wondering if they are still being made as component bullets. The Speer Gold Dots have worked great for me in my 44-40 as well, so I'm looking at those in a 357 flavor as well. The XTP is a good bullet, I just like the others better.

·
Registered
1,536 Posts