Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I love the internet. So much information on seemingly limitless subjects. I also hate the damned thing because every time I try to find out something very specific I get countless contrary answers...

I know I need to clean my 795 before I take it to the range but how thoroughly? Some say just clean the bore. Some say just field strip it and clean it. Some say disassemble the action and clean that too. I've never done this before so I'd really like to not do anything to potentially harm my brand new carbine whether it be breaking it down too much and bending/breaking something or not cleaning it enough.

And that brings me to the question of what do I use to do the cleaning. Rod? Patchworm? BoreSnake? What solvents, what oils and what kits are good? Hell, I read about a guy that said he used Zippo lighter fluid, 10W40, a wood dowel and old t-shirts to maintain all of his rifles. I have next week off and I'd really like to get this sorted ASAP so I can hit the range on Monday while everyone else is at work.

I am thoroughly confused and can feel a headache creeping in so any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Field strip and clean per the manual instructions but also clean the bore (the manual may say bore never needs to be cleaned, but get the packing grease out. I clean my bore regularly by the way). An Otis pull through kit is fine for this.

I use Hoppes 9 on the internal receiver and bore surfaces as well as the outer surfaces to remove packing grease. Just using Otis patches. The. Lightly oil inside and out.

Do not over think it.

·
Registered
84 Posts
My entire 22 cleaning kit is

Otis pull through kit and patches (available at any gun store, dicks sporting goods, or amazon)

Rem Oil disposable wipes for wiping off finger prints in external surfaces

Hoppes 9 to clean and Hoppes gun oil for light coating of all surfaces when done.

·