Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Classroom ".45-70, 101" The Adventure Begins

I should preface this by stating that I’m new to the .45-70 and lever guns in general.

I just purchased a Remington made 1895 GBL.

I wish some kind soul here would do a “Class .45-70 101” post for folks like me that are new to these rifles.

Actually, I have already gleaned a great deal of good information here at the MO group and I’m very thankful for that.

To begin with, I wanted to be sure my new rifle was a keeper before I started investing some money on reloading stuff and scope and sights. I went to the local gun store and picked-up some 300 Grain Winchester Super X, jacketed hollow points (that's all they had, by-the-way).

Before I went to the range, I loaded some rounds in the tube magazine and attempted to cycle them through the action. The rifle would not function, period. It appeared that the extractor was too tight as the round would not go into the full horizontal position when chambering. The top side of the rim case would jamb against the bottom of the extractor. Very frustrating.

To resolve this, I super lubed all the moving parts of the action. I left the magazine empty and worked the action about five-hundred times. Re-lubing as I went to help loosen-up everything. Marlin did a very poor job and left the Big Loop lever with very sharp edges. I pulled the skin off my little finger and fore finger. I finally just put on a leather glove and continue to work the action again and again.