Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am relatively new to chronographs, I have been using my shooting Chrony Master for several years now and have been happy with the results. Lately I have been working up some loads for my shorty 444 project with BTB 290 LFN GC's. I set up dual ladder tests with H322 and H4198 and headed up the ladder. At starting charges of both I was getting 2-3 out of 5 shots that would not record, and by the time I was near my max loads none were recording a velocity. The Chrony error code was bullet did not cross first sensor, which is odd because it crossed and was detected by the second sensor and everything was lined and leveled. So what is up with this? Is it the Gas checks doing something funny? The same day I chronographed 9mm, 22 lr and .223 and each shot recorded as expected. I did try moving the chrony from 12 out to 15 feet with no changes..

James

·
Registered
249 Posts
I have usually attributed the failure to detect the bullet over the first sensor to muzzle blast confusing the sensor. However, at 15' it is hard to make this argument unless you have a huge muzzle blast.

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have usually attributed the failure to detect the bullet over the first sensor to muzzle blast confusing the sensor. However, at 15' it is hard to make this argument unless you have a huge muzzle blast.
This is possible, I'm pushing the 290 pretty hard, and the start loads would catch a few of the rounds going across, that certainly diminished to none with increased velocity. Hw far out can you go with chronigraph, I ran out of monitor wire at 15'..

James

·
Registered
920 Posts
Try 20 feet The gas out of your barrel is faster then the bullet and gets to the crony first and messes up your reading. It can be alignment but you say it is align and it worked for other shells so I think best bet is too close. Widow

·
Registered
2,457 Posts