Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I'm new to the Marlin forum. I joined because just a few days ago I found my childhood Marlin single-shot 22 bolt action that my Father gave to me shortly before he died in an accident in 1963. I was 15 years old when he gave it to me but he didn't tell me anything about it. It may have been his father's gun before him, but I don't know. The only thing I remember about the 22 is when Dad used to shoot mice in Grampa's barn with it before he passed it to me. On the top of the barrel it says "The Marlin Firearms Corporation" and under that says "New Haven, Conn. U.S.A.-Patented". Near the receiver on the side of the barrel it says "22 S.,L & L.R".

There doesn't appear to be any other markings on it as I have it apart in an attempt to restore it for a wall hanger. If anyone knows where I can get more information on this rifle, I'd appreciate it. The Marlin website wasn't much help. Another thing I know I'll need is a rear sight because the top of it, where the notch is for the stepped elevator is broke off.

I'm attaching a few photos. It was pretty rusty, but I've cleaned it up enough to take pictures of it. If anyone can help with a model number or an age it would be greatly appreciated.

PS Don't laugh at the stock, it was a 16 or 17 year old kids idea of how to re-finish a stock.

marlin 001 (2).JPG marlin 001.JPG marlin 003 (2).JPG marlin 004 (2).JPG

·
Premium Member
12,127 Posts
I have one that was made by Marlin and is a single shot bolt action that my father had back in the 1950's. What are the markings on the barrel? It should say the manufacture and where it was made. The way that is worded and where the factory was may give some clues to age. I would also think there is a model number on the barrel as well.I will look at mine again when I get home. Mine does not have the cap on the fore end.

·
Registered
15 Posts