Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,343 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I had a good chuckle with this video as a reminder - cheap hunting knives can work.... I especially thought the $0.99 bait knife sharpened up for real cutting duty was something.... Apparently he really does (or did) use it as a serious hunting knife....

I guess I am not too far off this myself... I learned to cut fish with a cheap birch handle Rapala fillet knife. Then I got
my own when I was old enough.... I have been filleting fish for 30+ years with those cheap Rapala knives... I have cut thousands of fish with mine and it just keeps going.... I honestly never even knew there was any other type of fillet knife for probably 20 years....

How about you?

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
Great video. I have used the small Rapala filet knife for years and it just keeps on going. I used to have a Cold Steel Pendleton Lite Hunter but gave it to my son 2 years ago. It is a great inexpensive option. I’ve settled on the Buck Vangaurd for my hunting knife.

I bought a Browning knife set on clearance probably 12 years ago for $20 that still gets used every year. It came with a gut hook, skinner and saw.

·
Registered
647 Posts
Discounting that a knife CAN be a work of art.... A comfortable handle and a blade that will take and hold an edge. Anything more starts getting into ego more than what a knife is for.

·
Registered
2,561 Posts
I have used cheap knives and they work. Now a days I can afford to go middle ground and use ones that cost $50 to $100. Hold and edge better and I don't have to sharpen as often. I cut through the joints and cutting the tendons laying on the bone dulls the blade some. Better knives hold up longer. There is a American made Buck knife I use a lot. Got it at an RMEF banquet. Sharpens easy but dulls easy as well. Blade shape works great, it is considered a caper knife. https://www.buckknives.com/product/135-paklite-caper-knife/0135FAM01/