Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I am looking to start casting bullets but know nothing about it. When I say nothing I really mean I have zero tools and zero experience. It just seems like fun to be able to control (to some extent) the bullet. Do you have any books or videos you would recommend I get my hands on?

thanks
micky

·
Registered
2,758 Posts
micky, check out gunshops that sell reloading supplies, they should have books on casting lead bullets. Lyman has a good one and there are others out there also. Check Barnes & Noble and other book stores for info. Best of all check out the forum here on reloading and casting, lots of help. Take care, John.

·
Premium Member
5,222 Posts
http://castboolits.gunloads.com/

The best sight for casting. Get the Lyman and do a little research. Find what your gun likes. Limitations on plain based bullets (slow speed), hardness and lube. Sizing the bullet also makes a bunch of difference. I've a plethora of equipment and find myself now buying the bullets that I shoot frequently or use up my precious lead. Its getting harder to come by! I can cast for virtually anything, but time and that lead problem keep me from it occasionally. It will only save you money if you find free lead.

·
Registered
842 Posts
Greetings
+1 on the castboolits site.
Very good bunch of fellers with many years of casting experience willing to help interested persons along the trail.

·
Registered
799 Posts