Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been following this auction on Gun Broker:

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=227487517

It ended this afternoon for 455.70. I thought this was an outstanding rifle, NIB with cool wood. Now I'm no expert on, or even a semi-afficionado of 1895's, but was very tempting to me but can't expand my ammunition categories.

What did I miss about this rifle that kept the price so low? ???

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
Beats me...its a pre-Remlin I think.

That serial number is from 2005...I don't much care for that wood, but that can be fixed :)

·
Registered
671 Posts
You never know when a deal is gonna pop up, I recently bought a NIB guide gun from a guy that at one time owned a gun store. It went out of business and everything that was left he kept, but started selling things off recently. I got the guide gun brand new for 450 and a brand new Uberti high wall for 650. I think I got real lucky finding this guy

·
Registered
124 Posts
Have you actually checked out the blue book values for marlins....

The do not reflect the transition the company has gone through, nor the uncertainty about RemLins

Consider yourself a person with insider knowledge.

Two years from now, Marlins are gonna be expensive, I predict.

You used to be able to buy 30-30 marlins for under 200 bucks all day long. That was just two years ago. Try to find one under 400 bucks today.

We have a limited window of opportunity here to get the Marlin we always wanted.

·
Registered
24 Posts
I'm no wood expert, but due to the buttstock I wouldn't have paid the selling price for that one. I don't know what those dark spots are all over it, look like knots to me, but I don't consider that cool wood.
There's still too many good Marlins out there to get in a bidding war over something not just right.

·
Registered
31 Posts