Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody. I new to this site and hopefully somebody here can help me out. I got a camp 9 that needs some work, but when i try to disassemble it, the bolt assembly wont come out. It seems like the extractor/ejector is stuck out like its indicating that there is a round chambered preventing the bolt from sliding out. Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.

I'm sorry if I didnt use the correct terms, Im fairly new to this. 2012-03-24_23-46-59_948.jpg

·
Registered
30 Posts
YES, it does look like there is a round in the chamber! It also appears that the hammer is down already which will make it a bit harder to retract the bolt.YOU ARE IN THE UNKNOWN DANGER ZONE! KEEP the rifle pointed in a safe direction! REMOVE the magazine if it is installed. The safety is OFF in the picture (thank God for the magazine disconnect). STAY AWAY from the trigger and push the safety on(rearward)so that it can be seen in front of the trigger. While holding the barrel FIRMLY in a SAFE direction, pull sharply back on the bolt handle. If it moves rearward, check to make sure the chamber is empty. If you can't budge it, you might try using a LARGE flat-bladed screwdriver. Wrap the screwdriver blade in a piece of heavy paper to protect the finish, stick the screwdriver blade into the front gap between the bolt handle and the receiver and twist the screwdriver firmly. That should get the bolt to move. BE CAREFUL!

First things FIRST! Make sure the gun is SAFE!

Ed

·
Premium Member
1,081 Posts
Insert a cleaning rod down the barrel to check for a live round. If there isn't a live row in the barrel, just the case. Get a wood dowel rod long enough to go all the way down barrel. Hit the wooded dowel with a hammer while pulling back the slide release.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4