Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,568 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This has probally been asked a million times before, but in your guys opinions how important really is it to be fully camoed? This is my first year at trying to be fully decked out , Ive read a lot on how important this is. I have had success in the past, not fully camoed. Is this captain camo overrated? I'm planning to go out next Saturday and see, if it matters I always use my bow for taking turkeys.

·
Registered
682 Posts
I think camo helps but it's not everything, depends on the situation. The key is to be as sent free as possible and not move a lot where a Turkey can see you. I think the most important thing in Turkey hunting is you need to blend into your surroundings. Like for instance if you are leaning up against a big oak tree you might want to be wearing gray to match the trunk of the tree, not necessarily camo. I'm sure others will chime in too.

·
Premium Member
4,741 Posts
I have found movement to be the biggest factor when chasing turkey, which makes a successful turkey hunter with a bow my hero. Being inside of a blind is one thing, but bow hunting turkey without one is indeed a challenge. You do need to blend into your surroundings, but even the best guillie suit out there won't cover up sudden moves. I'd say if you have already taken turkey with a bow without the full blown camo, then you're good to go. Skilled woodsmanship and patience will take you a lot further than the top name camo outfit. Looking forward to photos of your next successful hunt.

Reactions: Longstreet

·
Premium Member
1,568 Posts