Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Picked up a waffle top 336 A in 30-30. It didn't have a bullseye so I acquired a few. I've never done this before. What is the best way to do this?

Per the attached pics, did someone try to fill the hole or are they really just that shallow? Before I start free-hand-drilling, was hoping some members could advise best way to do this.

It appears to me a prior owner filled the hole-unless they really were this shallow...

Attachments

·
Registered
2,409 Posts
It does look a bit shallow to me but I can not tell if the wood is the same as the stock. When I replaced one I did deepen the whole a little so I wouldn't have to do much work on the bullseye after installing.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It does look a bit shallow to me but I can not tell if the wood is the same as the stock. When I replaced one I did deepen the whole a little so I wouldn't have to do much work on the bullseye after installing.
Thank you for the reply. Did you use a drill press or free hand it? Did you find a drill bit of comparable size to bullseye-just slightly smaller?

·
Registered
2,747 Posts
Where did you get the bullseye’s from?

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
Be sure to use the right style drill bit, fillson or something like that, cuts very smooth from the outside in the bullseye hole is smaller than it seems. Might be 5/16" or slightly larger, not 3/8". I would guess the factory drilling to be 3/8" deep. The new piece is going to be too long to allow you to shape it to the stock, careful shaping and fitting makes a nice look.

Sent from my SM-A505U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·