Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to reloading for the 45-70 but am not new to reloading. I want to know if the BB brass is alot stronger than other brands and how does it compare in water volume with other brands of brass.Ihave 100 empty cases and want to start filling them.

·
Premium Member
4,169 Posts
Best advice I can offer is to measure their water volume yourself...not many people have reloaded that brass.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the reply. I thought somone may have as Ihave read other posts that had water volumes for different brass.

·
Premium Member
3,536 Posts
Also the primers are small rifle, and that to me poses a bit of a dilemma when working up loads with published data. I don't know, maybe someone with more experience could speak to that, is it a problem? Do you use magnum primers? ???

·
Registered
165 Posts
I found a box of Buffalo Bore 44mag last hunting season laying on the trail they were all loaded with starline brass. I don’t know if BB uses starline in every thing.

·
Premium Member
3,536 Posts
I don't have them here but if memory serves my BB 405's say something like 45/70 Magnum. I have heard that they contracted with Starline to make their brass using small rifle primer pockets to make mad tube detonations less possible under high recoil. I wonder if the brass is any stouter than regular brass too. ???

·
Registered
539 Posts
Looking at my BB 300 JFN they read "Lever Gun 45-70 Mag" and the primer looks smaller than the Hornady LE primer. I don't think they would make their own brass. I would suspect they contract from one of the brass manufactures, but that is just a guess.

·
Premium Member
4,169 Posts
It is rumored to be Starline brass...and it probably is.

Use the brass, but work up the loads from the beginning.

·
Registered
8,076 Posts