Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good day all,

I have been unemployed since April 2013 and am currently going through bankruptcy in Tampa Florida. My brother is in Bryan Texas and has offered temporary shelter for me to go there and look for work. He talks about how Texas is booming but due to his work / hours is unable to provide any details on what is currently available.

From 1977 to 2008, I worked as a civil engineering designer, designing and drafting permit plans for subdivisions, apartment complexes, shopping malls and other commercial buildings. From 2008 to April 2013 I worked as a salesman and photography instructor at a specialty camera store. From 1978 to April 2013, periodic commercial, portrait (studio & location) and wedding photography provided enough money to fund equipment upgrades, repairs and purchases but not enough to go full time.

I have built AR's as well as disassembled, repaired and rebuilt other firearms for myself and friends - I am not a gunsmith, just love the challenge and enjoy the 'tinkering' so to speak.

It is my limited (and possibly ignorant) impression that Bryan Texas is pretty much a college town and my limited skill set / work history may not be a good match for the area. I want to leave Florida and only consider moving to another gun owner friendly state.

Looking for opinions, impressions and/or comments from people in or close to Bryan Texas to weigh in, thank you.

Peace,
Mark

·
Registered
140 Posts
Been away from that area for many years, so no longer have any "connections." That being said, the BCS area has been growing like crazy for quite some time so your engineering expertise should stand you in good stead. Good luck! GW

·
Registered
480 Posts