1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My first bolt action and a few questions,
Had It three weeks now and am planning to shoot it this week,
Did not know retirement could be so busy ~
1st ? Should I clean It before the first firing ? I will clean the barrel but should I break It down ? It seems to be well/over lubed a bit.
I'm assuming bolt actions shoot cleaner than semi auto's

I'm no expert, the Marksman score I got In the military was easy and meaningless to this old Squirrel hunter.
So My second question;
If I do my part on a single bag rest seated at a table what kind of groups should I expect without getting into what ammo a given rifle likes best?
Say at 25 and 50 yards with the open sites ?

Of course I will try a couple of 100 yard shots with Iron sites :p

I will scope the rifle but not until I get a few hundred rounds through It and learn the trigger...
Whats peoples take on Iron sight scope rings ? Always wondered If they raised the scope to far from the bullet trajectory.
I plan to operate from 25 to 75 yards mostly.
Also considering Ghost ring's always got along well with them.
They worked great on my M1 super 90

·
Registered
719 Posts
Other than cleaning the barrel I would just wipe off any other excess oil.

At 25 yards with open sights I would hope for quarter sized groups. From 50, minute of squirrels head?

I'm not crazy about see through rings. I don't get a good cheek weld with them.

·
Registered
159 Posts
By all means, clean the action and barrel before shooting it. My eyes have never let me shoot well without a scope, so I won't speculate on YOUR ability, eyesight, or accuracy potential. I can only relate my own experiences with a new .22 Magnum rifle, which I bought about a year ago.

Last November, I bought a Ruger American stainless steel .22 Magnum. I cleaned the bore and mounted a scope before heading to the range.