Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys!

i am new to the forum but i just purchased a marlin model 25 in .22lr from a friend of mine! he had a couple guns and just wanted to get rid of them. bought the .22 and a mossberg 12ga. for $125!!! the gun is in great shape! no rust! stocks finish is a little worn and the bluing on the barrel in a few spots. also the rear sight is very slightly bent to one side. but besides that the gun is great and Ive heard some really great things about them!!!

anyways i have my ccw and have owned multiple handguns but never any rifles so i am new to this! i am looking to try and make this gun a little tack-driver if possible! i am going to use it for groundhogs, chipmunks, squirrels, rabbits and some target shooting. in the range of 25-100yds most likely.

i have already read some topics on trigger jobs and am going to try a few things.

but i am looking to put a scope on this rifle. i was looking at two main options but am up for suggestions. . .

Leupold vx-i rimfire 2-7x 28mm

Nikon prostaff 3-9x 40mm 150 bdc

any ideas on those scopes? what about a fixed 4x?
i also would still like the option to use the iron sights with the scope still mounted. i was looking at the Leupold 1" see-thru 3/8in grooved rimfire rings. would these work?

i am up for any suggestions or ideas and am excited to see what some people with more experience have to say about the subject.

also any cleaning tips? products?

this winter i may actually refinish the stock and if possible the bluing on the receiver and barrel!!! so products or direction on this topic would also be greatly appreciated!!

thanks!!!

Steven

·
Registered
304 Posts
G'day Steven welcome aboard.
Well done on what sounds like a pure bargin.