Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello friends,
Hoping you can help me with a rimfire bolt action safety question.
I am not exactly new to firearms, but it is fair to say that I am pretty new to bolt action rifles.
I grew up using my dad's Marlin 39A lever action. Because of the visible thumb hammer, it was possible to easily de-cock the rifle with a round in the chamber, which I always did while hiking around so as not to depend solely on the safety button.
However, I just read somewhere that doing so with a bolt action can result in a more dangerous, rather than a safer condition than simply using the safety because the firing pin is then in contact with the primer. One good bump and you've got yourself an accidental discharge.
Is this true of rimfire as well as centerfire bolt action rifles?
Of course your brain is your primary safety, your finger the secondary, and the button/lever on the gun a distant third, but when walking through bushes things get bumped and snagged too!
Here's a scenario I'm thinking of. When we used to go squirrel hunting, someone would carry the 22 for a good clean headshot, and someone else would carry a shotgun for when the squirrel is on the move. Let's say you find the squirrel parked on the tree trunk and chamber a round. But before you can squeeze off a shot, he runs and your shotgun partner takes the shot instead. Now it's time to move on to the next one, but you've got one in the chamber. Do you have to dump the whole tube and cycle the bolt before you start walking so as not to depend only on the safety?
I say tube because my son is a novice shooter, and I just bought him his first rifle, a Marlin XT-22TR. Also, I have a Marlin 881 for myself, but haven't had it out in the woods yet. I want to be sure that in addition to always bearing in mind the Four Commandments of Gun Safety that we are also acting appropriately with our particular firearms.