Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Probably a stupid question but I'm new to marlins so here it goes. I am buying a 70's 336 and want to put a marlin factory big loop lever and the xs sights with rail on it. will they fit with out any issues.

·
Premium Member
5,925 Posts
Although I've never used a Marlin factory big loop, I have swapped 336 levers out from other 336 rifles. I don't think you'll have
any issues.

·
Premium Member
12,566 Posts
skmarsh77 said:
Probably a stupid question but I'm new to marlins so here it goes. I am buying a 70's 336 and want to put a marlin factory big loop lever and the xs sights with rail on it. will they fit with out any issues.
Make sure it's the 336 lever and not the 1895 lever. There are enough differences in the 2 that sometimes they will interchange, and sometimes they won't.

·
Registered
173 Posts
not sure on the 70s Marlin, but on a 60s Glenfield I have, the scout mount will NOT line up (rear sight is further back towards the receiver)
not exactly 'apples to apples' but just what I ran into. my 30/30 is a 68

the large loop I have is from a 336 and it swapped in without issue

·
Premium Member
5,925 Posts
Halwg said:
Make sure it's the 336 lever and not the 1895 lever. There are enough differences in the 2 that sometimes they will interchange, and sometimes they won't.

Actually there's really not that much difference.....the 1895 lever should work fine on the 336 as long as it's a .30-30.......some may require "minor" fitting to interchange, but it's same action....the 1895 just has a bigger ejection port.

·
Premium Member
12,566 Posts
six_gunz said:
Actually there's really not that much difference.....the 1895 lever should work fine on the 336 as long as it's a .30-30.......some may require "minor" fitting to interchange, but it's same action....the 1895 just has a bigger ejection port.