Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Super Moderator
11,176 Posts
FYI--to all of you who are conservative firearms owners and perhaps want to cover your firearms in your homeowner's insurance. True story--the names and Ins Co have been left out to protect the innocent. A shooting buddy I know who was a school teacher by profession and happened to be a gun owner who enjoyed the shooting sports. He was already being discriminated against at his workplace by other co-workers who were anti-gun.

In "Libertardland" a new local law was passed in July 1994 requiring registration of all rifles (Manufactured on or after this date). All pre-1994 long guns were supposed to be grandfathered. This school teacher decided that it might be a good idea to cover his firearms under his homeowners' policy. His agent said he had to record all serial numbers and take pictures of the firearms. He submitted the list with photos to the agent. The agent made a comment that it is a big arsenal and way more guns then anyone would need to own. The agent took the list and turned it over to the local police department telling them that he thought it was a large cache of unregistered firearms.

The police came to his house and demanded to see all firearms. They grilled him on the ones that were unregistered. The owner said that it was not a law before July of 1994 that required you to register rifles. They demanded that he show receipts for all and he said some were bought so long ago that he no longer had receipts. In short--they harassed him and forced him to register every one of those rifles that were supposed to be grandfathered. If he did not comply---they threatened to confiscate all of the unregistered rifles and only return them post an investigation on each to see if they were stolen.