Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
280 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Picking up a .308 Ruger American soon, does anyone have an opinion on a good scope to put on it?

For suggestions please keep in mind I'm a budget-minded college student so I'm not looking at Trijicons, I want to keep it somewhere close to or below $200.

I was looking into Nikon Buckmaster and ProStaff 3-9x40 BDC. Is the ProStaff worth the extra money, or is the Buckmaster comparable enough that a relatively newbie wouldn't really notice?

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
I always bought monarchs in the past and I am not up to speed with their offerings anymore but to my recollection the Buckmaster was marketed as a better scope than the ProStaff. The ProStaff was their introductory scope.

·
Registered
318 Posts
I put a $50 Barska on my daughter's Ruger American 243. It will put three in a jagged hole at 100yds.

Barska might not be thought highly of, but I own four of them...anything from a 22lr to my 375 Ruger, not one issue.
Picking up a .308 Ruger American soon, does anyone have an opinion on a good scope to put on it?

For suggestions please keep in mind I'm a budget-minded college student so I'm not looking at Trijicons, I want to keep it somewhere close to or below $200.

I was looking into Nikon Buckmaster and ProStaff 3-9x40 BDC. Is the ProStaff worth the extra money, or is the Buckmaster comparable enough that a relatively newbie wouldn't really notice?
Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
What exactly do you mean by repeatable true adjustments?