Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi i am a newbie here, I have Marline gbl 45/70 (18.5) I cast some boolets using wheel weight in 427 gr. just plain, no gas check.I am going to use this rifle for plinking only.. I would like to know what will be the best powder to use and what will be a good recipe for it, not max load but not minimum load , kind of in the middle, I am thinking of IMR 3031 or IMR 4198..any suggestion is highly appreciated...thanks..

·
Premium Member
18,026 Posts
First off, Welcome to the Forum!

I'm still getting used to my 1895SS, and have only recently started reloading 45/70, but twelve grains of Unique or 18 grains of 2400 make good plinking loads with 400 grain bullets. There's plenty of data to be found for this awesome 138-year old cartridge, all you have to worry about is which pressure level it's loaded to. Reloder 7 and the 4198's are favorite powders in the 45/70 and 375 Winchester, but 3031 works well, as does 4895, Varget, AA-2520, SR-4759, AA-5744, there's quite a list of useful powders. As many members as we have that load the 45/70, you should get plenty of suggestions! :D

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thank you..IMR4198 will be my powder of choice, but I could not find specific load data for 427 gr...30.5 gr to 39.7 gr of IMR4198 is the nearest formula i got..so maybe I can start on 35 gr??

·
Administrator
23,800 Posts
Reloader 7 and Unique no others needed, from mouse to mastadon.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thank you swany, do you have data for that powder using 437 gr lead cast boolits by any chance..

·
Registered
651 Posts
Swiss

FFg or FFFg

·
Premium Member
18,026 Posts
I doubt you're going to find much data for a 437 grain bullet, it's not exactly a common weight. :p

Look for data using slightly heavier bullets and start from there.