Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
711 Posts
I have a Nikon Buckmasters 3-9X40 for mine, works well for me.

·
Registered
198 Posts
This is basically a 100 yd. rifle so high magnification isn't really needed. I put a Simmons 1.5 X 5 shotgun scope on one of mine and it's more than good enough for the rifle. Mine will shoot under 5" groups @ 200 yds., the drop is about 14.5", not recommended unless one's used to holdover.

·
Registered
155 Posts
You have a lot of selections of scope manufacturers. What are ya looking for? Something where you keep BOTH EYES open with a "Red Dot" and close up or distance won't make any difference? You have Bushnell, ATN, Mueller, Weaver, Tru-Glo and other good ones. Just don't get the "multi-reticles" as the POI will change with each reticle change. I have a Bushnell Trophy on a Remington 870 that's been very good. OR, something in a single power of 2 or 4 you have Leupold, Bushnell, Weaver, older used scopes like Weaver's "K" series, or a scope in 1-5x28, 2-7x33, 3-9x40 you have many choices in Leupold, Weaver, Bushnell, Redfield, Simmons, Mueller, Burris and most other scope makers. On my 30-30 I have a Burris 3-9x40 FullfieldII and on my 1894(44Mag) I'm using a Redfield 2-7x33. Also lots of people now use the shotgun scopes out there and they work very well.
Del

·
Registered
32,306 Posts
I use the same type scope for my .44 mag as I do with the 45-70, it's a Leupold VX3 1.5-5 x 20mm. Its a nice scope, has clear glass and is easy to set up and use. I use the same style of scope because when I am 'out there' I won't be fidgeting with the scope because it's different to the other lever.
Hope this helps.

·
Premium Member
9,465 Posts
I really like the new Redfield 2 - 7 X 33 scopes, and you just can't beat the price and the warranty on them.

·
Registered
616 Posts