Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, I have a .243 ultra that is breaking open when fired. I have had it for two years. I hunted with it year before last and it worked fine. Last year while sighting it in it started to open when fired. I am using factory ammo from different manufacturers and different loads. It opens with 100 gr Hornady and with 58 gr Hornady and all other brands. I don't want to send it in If I dont have to, because it is past the 1 year warranty. I have cleaned it up and dried it. If I have to send it in, anyone know what kind of cost I might be looking at?

Thanks,
Bryan

·
Premium Member
1,649 Posts
Clean it good, paying attention to the latch and latch shelf area and the pivot area. Make sure there's no oil or grease on the latch or shelf, the bottom of the barrel and the frame, they should be clean and dry. You can find lots of info in the FAQ and other stickys at the NEF/H&R Centerfire forum at Graybeard that is specific to your rifle.

H&R is real good about repairs well after the warranty has expired, they won't charge anything cept shipping. But if it's tight, it probably just needs a good cleaning or possibly a little honing of the latch shelf. Many have had this problem and fixed it themselves. There are instructions in the FAQ at GBO for this fix.

http://www.graybeardoutdoors.com/phpbb2/viewforum.php?f=126&sid=7c221d0e7b09cbb1752566aa0f90f1f7

HTH,

Tim

·
Registered
91 Posts
Handi open when fired

Quick: no his stuff when it come these rifle,what I found the same problem happen to me with a new Handi.The fix I found was to snap it shut not just to close it easy ,seem the problem is gone.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
When the gun is back together, the barrell does not seem to fit tight agaist the receiver. There is the slightest play. I guess I'll send it back.

Thanks for your help!
Bryan

·
Premium Member
1,649 Posts