Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I'm pretty new to this post. I just brought home a new 336ss marlin in 30-30. I want to stick with open sights and my older eyes aren't as good as they once were so I've mounted Skinner peep sights on it. Love the setup! I've shot some 160 Hornady Leverrevolution ammo and 150 gr Herters and 170 gr Rem facotory loads tho it. I'm not that impressed with the results. In the end tho I've always reloaded and want reload for this rifle as well. Also I want to try some Barnes TSX bullets thro it. I've used them in a lot of the other rifles I own and I'm impressed with the results of these bullets, both on paper on animals. I've got a good supply of IMR and Hodgen powder. Has anybody used IMR 4320,4064 or 4895 in these loads? I've checked the Barnes manual and I'm sure the powders the recommend are good, but powder is so darn hard to buy these days I'd rather try some of the powder I have on hand first. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
1,196 Posts
I've had excellent accuracy using H4895 with both Hornady 150 grain round nose and Winchester 150 grain Power Points Flat Nose bullets. I haven't tried the Barnes bullets, however.

·
Administrator
23,798 Posts

·
Registered
299 Posts
Barnes

I might be wrong, but I think the Barnes TSX might not perform well at 30-30 velocities. They're a pretty tough bullet and an excellent one at that, when driven to recommended velocities.

·
Super Moderator
15,903 Posts
​I use IMR3031 for my 30/30 Win reloads.

·
Super Moderator
7,957 Posts
IIRC PMC loaded a barns bullet in their 30-30 ammo at one time.

·
Registered
933 Posts
I can't complain about the groups it get with Sierra 150gr FP on top of 38gr of Lev.powder with both my 336 and XLR. 1/2" 5 shot groups at 50 yds. off a bench (scoped)

·
Registered
2,355 Posts