Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been shooting my 1895CB for a couple of months and it seemed the accuracy was steadily getting worse (mainly shooting Missouri Bullet .18 cast 300 gr RF .459 dia). I would usually start at 50 yards and then move the target back to 100 yds. In my last foray, I shot 3 days in a row and lazily did not clean the barrel. At the 100 yard line about half the shots were fliers some 18 inches from the a point of aim. At this point I suspected a dirty barrel was the suspect. In cleaning the barrel there was little to no leading, but I was astounded at the amount of carbon. It would appear that I was not doing good job with my previous cleanings as even with M-Pro bore gel., it took about 3 hours to get the barrel really clean. Afterwards I slugged the barrel at .456. What did catch my attention was the shallow depth of the rifling. As shown below, I used the same 300 gr bullet (.459) I usually shoot. I will be shooting later today to see if the cleaner bore will equal better accuracy. If so I will be spending more time cleaning the barrel..

Metal

·
Registered
292 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well as usual with this kind of problem, there was more than one cause; in this case, 2. First with barrel being cleaned there were no more fliers, but the groups were still around 10". I then noticed the front mounting screw of the Skinner Express sight had come loose and I could not find the Allen wrench that I keep in my range bag. So, I expect a better showing on my next trip to the range..

BTW, I also ordered some gas checked bullets to test for accuracy..

·
Registered
2,626 Posts