Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if any of you use Lee's Zip Trim for your bottleneck brass trimming? If you do, what are the pros and cons?
I have been using a RCBS Trim Pro Case Trimmer for over ten years.

Here is the Lee product ...

bjm

·
Premium Member
3,536 Posts
Whats the recoil rope starter for?? That thing got a chainsaw engine in it? ;D ;D ;D
Seriously, if you have a cordless drill I don't think it is necessary, but I haven't tried one out so don't know for sure..

·
Premium Member
7,974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
eaglesnest said:
Whats the recoil rope starter for?? That thing got a chainsaw engine in it? ;D ;D ;D
Seriously, if you have a cordless drill I don't think it is necessary, but I haven't tried one out so don't know for sure..
Lol ... here is the video I saw this morning on the Lee Zip Trim ... go toward the bottom of the page and click on the "case trimming and chamfering" ... http://www.leeprecision.com/html/HelpVideos/video.html

There is nothing wrong my RCBS trimmer and still looks/works like new. I was just thinking that if I start shooting my bottleneck calibers more this year (I plan to) that maybe something else would be easier on my hands. I used to shoot up to 400 rounds a month in my .223, .243, and .308 bolt rifles. I am going to spend some practice time this summer shooting my 7mm-08, .270, and .308's at longer ranges.

bjm

·
Registered
320 Posts
I use and like the ZT, works better with individual shell holders than 3 jaw chuck, I hold the cutter with vice grips and leave resizing lube in necks until after trimming.
No batteries to charge or sparking motors around the powder and primers.

·
Banned
27 Posts
I used one for the 223 brass I bought from Midway (1,ooo cases) and it was faster than my other trimmer. Would I buy another? Depends on how many cases I had to trim! It did the job to my tastes. hth greg

·
Premium Member
1,129 Posts