Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Disclaimer: Please confine your comments to the mechanical nature of my question. Please start another thread if you want to discuss the issue of having a loaded rifle around your house.

Anyway, I typically use my rifles for short yet frequent periods of time. I live on a farm and may take one out every evening for 20 minutes. I just recently started using my 336 and it's a pita to shove in 5 and then cycle them out each time I use it. After a few times my cast bullets get a lot of nicks and scrapes which can't be good for accuracy.

So, anyone leave their's loaded for long time periods? Does the mag spring sag? I'm thinking of opening the action when I'm finished for the evening and leave it in that condition.

Suggestions based on experience appreciated.

·
Registered
300 Posts
I'm no engineer, but reports that I have read about metal fatigue and firearms is that loading/unloading, cocking/uncocking, etc. will wear out parts such as springs. Compression, such as a loaded magazine or a cocked hammer will not.

·
Registered
569 Posts
As far as I know its the movement of the springs that wears on them, I've never had a problem keeping pistol magazines loaded, and some of them only get fired once a year.

·
Registered
5,954 Posts
Agree with all the comments made. The small amount of heat generated by compressing and uncompressing is what wears out springs. Its like bending a piece of wire back and forth till it breaks.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the input, guys. I leave loaded revolvers and striker-fired pistols around so I guess this would be no different. Habit, I guess. I just always unloaded my rifle before going back in the house.

·
Registered
3,465 Posts