Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,590 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to trade my 29 towards a 20. I conceal some of my slightly larger 9's just as well as the 29 and I really just like the bigger gun better; and the 20 seems like the perfect gun for the Michigan woods.

I have a couple deals on the table. One is for a Gen 2, with a 100 rounds of ammo, 4 mags, NDZ stainless guide rod with 17# ISMI spring and a holster. (I would have no money out of pocket on this deal) The other is for a brand new Gen 3 (I am pretty sure its a gen 3) for $517. I would have to come up with some cash.

Is there that much of a difference between the Gen 2 and 3? I know about the finger grooves and rail, but is there anything else?

I am not a Glock expert, but I am leaning towards the Gen 2.

Thanks.

·
Premium Member
732 Posts
I'm no Glock expert either, but you don't see too many Gen 2's for sale that's for sure. The Gen 3's and 4's are around but rarely do you see a Gen 1 or a Gen 2. Tough decision. I got a Gen 4 and am happy with it, but if a Gen 2 was available , well that would have been hard to pass up. Good luck with you decision, a tough one it is.
JB

·
Super Moderator
7,969 Posts
I have Glock 20 Gen3 SF, no issues, no problems, accurate and very, very, reliable, most times hiking I tote the 20 and my wife totes the 29, she thinks it's hers! I love the 10mm!

Reactions: Dirty_Harry

·
Registered
138 Posts
My G20 is a gen 3 also.

I have read about a lot of guys changing out barrels and guide rods but my experience says it's not necessary. I've put quite a few hot loads from DoubleTap and Georgia Arms down the pipe without any issues at all and my G20 remains bone stock from the factory.

·
Registered
3,475 Posts