Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
6,889 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I never thought this would happen to me....

For all my hunting, I have always chose to "still hunt" (walk slowly, stop, study the surroundings, and then do it over and over again). I have always felt that I see more game by hunting this way than any other.

I guess I have finally reached that point in my life (age) where the walks have become shorter, and the pain afterward has become greater. My buddy has been hunting a small pop up blind for a couple of years now and likes doing so. He uses his blind in the mornings, still hunts midday, then returns to his blind for the late afternoon hunt. He encouraged me to give it a go. Doing this requires a bit of time pre-season scouting for a good spot to set up the blind, but also allows for a bit of still hunting during the midday.

I studied the smaller blinds that were on the market...there are many....and ended up choosing the Ameristep Dog House. A little shopping on line found one in Real Tree camo pattern, on sale, for 50.00.

I wanted to air the blind out before use, and set it up in the backyard. This gave me a good chance to choose a suitable folding chair for the purpose and get a feel for the blind, its set up and take down procedure, and to check for any flaws that could impact its use.

The Ameristep Dog House blind (which is promoted as a "two man blind") when set up has a 60" X 60" by 66" tall interior space....lots of room for me, any gear I choose to bring along, and enough room to wield a rifle comfortably to shoot out of any of the zippered openings. So far, so good. For one man use it seems to be superb.