Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to thank rmfmike for keeping this intact for me. if the pictures don't show you can find them on his website. for now, i have lost the capability to host pictures.

ALASKAN ADVENTURE

preamble: i kept a daily journal on the trip.
i think it best if i only type out one day at a time or the thing will be too long to read all at once and my fingers will fall off.
my hunting partner and i had been threatening for a couple of years to go bowhunting in alaska. he has a sister and her family that lives in soldatna,ak. so we would have a kind of jump off place. after a few years we both finally had the time, money saved up and the great desire to go. so we decided to go MOOSE HUNTING. we bought all the hunting gear and studied up on how to hunt MOOSE. my friends brother-in-law at one time was a pilot and the two of them had talked it over. the plan was that SOMEHOW we were going to get across the cook inlet and go moose hunting. of course the brother-in-law was coming along as he had lived in alaska for some time and was aquainted with the peculiarities of that area.
then my friends father decided that he wanted to come to as he is also a bowhunter.
both father and sons names are don by the way. don sr. and don jr.
then both dons wives figure they may as well go along as well and do a heap of visiting while we are gone for a FEW days out hunting.
it was quite the entourage! i never saw so many suitcases. anyways, i hope you all find this at least interesting.

date: mid aug. 1998
1st day

We arrived at ohare airport in chicago 3 hours before the flight. This will be my first ever. I am anticipating it calmly as i am determined to go.

A young black man checked our bags. When he saw those large cases he asked what was in them. "bows", i reply. "Are there arrows with them", he asks? "Yes", i reply. "ARE THEY LOADED", he asks? how do you answer that question.