Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
969 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's a tenant of the bench shooters religious beliefs that a hot barrel causes accuracy to decline. OK, I'll buy that. I have no experience here but it must have something to do with chamber/barrel dimensional expansion and a constant diameter bullet. But how hot is too hot? How am I supposed to gauge when to let it cool and to what point before I resume firing for group when determining the most accurate ammo for my gun (336 Texan .30-.30, 20")? The risk is a poor group from ammo that might be an excellent performer under "cool" conditions. Need informed opinions here..... :hmmmm:

·
Registered
3,114 Posts
I just simply wait one minute between shots, when trying for groups. If it is a sunny hot day and you are not shaded the barrel is going to be hot without even shooting, to hot, is when barrel is almost to hot to hold onto.

Hunting zero's are always done from a cold fouled barrel, some rifles can be very sensitive, and a few minutes between shoots is a good idea here.

Switching make of bullet, different brands have slightly different jacket metals and/or powders.
When switching loads, fire two rounds off target to season the bore with that jacket material and load residue, then shot group. Sometimes, if this is forgotten the first round and possibly second round will be a flyer relative to the rest of the group, causing you to think the load is bad, when in fact it could be very good .

·
Registered
359 Posts