Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy!

Just a quick introduction. My name is Lee (43) and I live in Portsmouth on the South coast of England, UK with my lady and my daughter.

I am a pest and vermin controller by trade and am a trained marksman and registered Firearms Technical Officer.

For my work and pleasure, I currently own and use the following: Moderated CZ .22 rim-fire, .410 Shot-pistol, Moderated Thompson Encore in .22 Hornet, Moderated Sako TRG-22 .308 Win, Moderated Bradley Arms AR15, Moderated .410 Mossberg 500 and a number of “12’s” by Benelli. ;D

I am finding myself more and more shooting deer and foxes within densely wooded areas and have just been given permission by our authorities to purchase a .45-70 for such works. ::) After much research and consideration, I’ve decide to go with a Marlin 1895XLR! :p

I’ve never owned a Marlin and never owned a lever-gun. I’ve reloaded thousands of pistol and rifle rounds, but never cast my own bullets (which I am planning on doing for the .45-70), So I very much look forward to contributing to this forum…and more than likely asking you guys some really stupid questions! ???

Thanks for having me, Leezie. ;)

·
Premium Member
18,025 Posts
Welcome to the party, Leezie! Lots of good folks here ready and willing to help with answers to your questions. We were all newbies ourselves once, or budding reloaders, or tyros around guns. So don't be bashful about asking questions, I don't know a better or easier way to find stuff out.

What made you choose the 45/70 for foxes and deer?

Does "Moderated" mean suppressed? I wish suppressors were easier to get here, I think using a quiet rifle is the polite thing to do when your neighbors are close by. :D