Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I'm an older guy(59), been a hunter, shooter,fisherman, and outdoors guy all my life.
My shooting career spans over 50 years now, my father started me shooting at age 6 and I never gave it up.
In over a half century of life, I've seen the Good, the Bad, the Ugly, the Downright Weird, and Others that fall into the category of "How you Figure that one out???".
I've shot competition in all 3 guns, Rifle, Pistol, and Shotgun, won a lot, lost a lot too, now shoot for the pleasure of it.
A Machinist by trade, I've seen and used machinery that had common flat belt drive all the way up to the new 5-axis CNC machines.
I've lived through and adapted to the progress of the information age, went from rotary party line phones to the Computer and Internet age as evidenced by me posting this introduction.

I was going through my collection pulled out my old Marlins, a 39, a 1949 vintage 336(my deceased father's gun), a 336T in .44 mag, an 1895 in 45/70, and a 1967 336 in .35 Rem.
Just on a whim, I wondered if there was a Marlin forum for the 336 and ended up here!
I also have some old Winchesters in the collection, 4 pre-64 model 94's an 1886 in 45/70 and a model 92 in 44/40.
I've used the 94's and the 92 to hunt with, prefer to use my father's 1949 336, just like it better.

I'm also a member of the Roosevelt/Browning Hunting Group, you have to use original or reproduction pre-1898 rifles to hunt with.
Have an original BSA Lee-Metford .303(built in 1897) and an original DWM 1896 7m/m Mauser sporter rifle which I use despite both of them being over 100 years old.

I also go after the other kind of Marlin, the kind that swims in the ocean(Pacific Blue Marlin) and am fortunate to live near good fishing grounds.