Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I saw a NIB Ruger Blackhawk Flattop, 50th Anniversary .357 this morning. The thing is pristine. Question is, and I know this will vary regionally, what would be a fair price for this handgun, in your respective areas, of course?

I did a search earlier, and this link is to the most recent thread regarding the 50th anniversary.

http://www.marlinowners.com/forums/index.php/topic,69338.0.html

Do any of you Blackhawk experts have any new updated info? Gunbroker shows a few going anywhere from $450 on up to $550 with a pretty casual average of ~$500. Are these pistols pretty good shooters? Never been around any Flattops like this, but have read plenty of good things about them. I am curious about how satisfied folks that have them are with theirs.

·
Premium Member
5,327 Posts
Well, I'm no Blackhawk expert DWB, but from the lack of responses you've received, looks like neither is anyone else.

I have no experience with the 50th Anniversary .357 Blackhawk, but I do own two of the Flattops in .44 Special, one in 4 5/8ths, the other in 5 1/2 inch. The 5 1/2" remains unfired in the box (purchased when this was a limited production run for Lipsey's and before I knew they would become a regular catalog item...so much for an investment. ::)), but the 4 5/8ths has proven to be a good shooter. I have no reason to believe the .357 would be any different.

These .44 Special Blackhawks have the steel grip frame and ejector rod housing as does the 50th .357, and I like the balance better than those original Flattops I've handled, with their alloy grip frames. The triggers were a bit heavy, with noticeable creep, but it didn't take much to bring them up to par. I did find the excessively thin black plastic grips on these Flattops didn't do the revolvers justice and replaced them with a little bit thicker elk stag grips from Patrick Grashorn. http://grashornsgunworks.com/index.html