Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
G'day all

I'm looking for some decent .45 Colt rifle loads for 100-300yard target accuracy. Any web sites or personal recipes welcome, up to 255gr pills. Max 300gr. :)

I ask this as I have no experience with this cal, one that for some reason :shock: has held my interest for some time. Can only find pistol data.

Will SWCs feed well into a CB24"? Coated lead seems more common and economical here in Oz, said to have same performance as jacketed. http://www.rpgfirearms.com.au/WESTCASTINGS.htm

A local gun shop owner and long time .45 Colt shooter, CAS & hunting, recommended his favourite boar stopper :
225gr FP(Hornady style)
22gr ADI AR2205 (as you know it H4227)

Thanks
Mucus

·
Registered
2,047 Posts
I have a 45 Colt carbine, a Winchester Trapper version in which I shoot mainly the RCBS 300 SWC. It casts a bit over 300 with my alloy. I generally load it with W296 at the max for 300 bullets in the Ruger Blackhawk. Since my rifle spent some time existing as a 454 Casull and didn't blow up, I don't feel like I am stressing it too much. It shoots cast bullets sized to .454" better than jacketed bullets. I'm sure you could make it or a similar bullet work well with the H4227 equivalent.

The little 45 carbine makes a good bunny gun capable of slaying the little buggers cleanly even when they think they can hide behind 3-4" alder brush. Even the 250 grain bullets make it through with authority.

·
Registered
463 Posts
Mad Mucus said:
I'm looking for some decent .45 Colt rifle loads for 100-300yard target accuracy. Any web sites or personal recipes welcome, up to 255gr pills. Max 300gr. :)

Thanks
Mucus
I think you're streaching things a bit @ 300 yds, it's got to have a trejectory like a rainbow?