Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,
So, I'm kinda new at this reloading stuff. Last couple of years loaded some 45-70, 44mag (rifle) and .45ACP. Always wanted to but never had the time or money so as a result didn't shoot much. Retired, lots of time, so got started. Anyway, I want to load some 45 ACP for plinking (shot a hundred yesterday, sure didn't take long) and looking for less expensive bullets to play with. So far I've only reloaded 200gr XTP and 230 grain FMJ and hollow points, jacketed. Would like to load some cast for cost saving and am not sure what size to get. When loading jacketed I always get .451" Most of the cast I find is .452". Is that size OK?

If it matters I'm shooting a Kimber custom covert 2. Anyway, all advice is welcome. I have 3 reloading manuals and plenty of data I can use. I've just never loaded any cast and looking for info about bullet diameter. Also I only have couple pounds Titegroup and I've got 1000 Winchester large pistol primers (mag or standard). Not looking to buy more stuff except bullets, and a good source to buy would also be a help. Thanks.

·
Premium Member
8,044 Posts
I am in the opposite boat plenty of lead bullets, 300 pcs of cleaned and prepped brass, 1000's of primers, no powder, wish you lived closer we could work out a trade. I found some cowboy action lead bullets at the LGS 230 grain round nose in.452. I bought at least 500 of them maybe 1000.

I hate spending the money on the factory ammo when I have everything but the powder!!!!! there is NO pistol powders to be found round here dagnabit!!!!so I broke down and bought another 100 rounds of the winchester bulk white box!!!!!!because my xd with the newly installed PRP trigger job is a sweet shooter.

·
Registered
20,660 Posts