Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,
I'm new to the 45-70 (previously used 30-06's, 308,s, 44 Mags and 30-30's), and know that there are some real wrinkles to loading the 45-70....could be more art than science. Anyway, I know that lots of you know this caliber inside and out, and would REALLY appreciate a heads up on bullets, powders, trajectories, etc. My goal is to put a load together that will fly out to 200 yds. without having to hold over or under within that range. Might be difficult, and I could be dumb for even proposing such a thing. Any ideas......and thanks!

·
Registered
152 Posts
Don't know about 200 yds. but 52 gr. H322 under a 300gr. Sierrah JHP shoots great out of my 1895GS. Shooting crows at 125 yds. Mine has a Leupold 2x7 Veri xI Shotgun/Muzzleloader scope on it. Just sneek a little closer.

Matt

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Matt....I'll get some of that powder and give it a shot (literally). If you're popping crows at 125, I know three things have to be happening.....you've got a great rifle, you've got a great load, and you can shoot. I appreciate your suggestions....

·
Premium Member
5,222 Posts