Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Well, as I posted a couple months ago, I decided to give my 336CB 38-55 a go on the next rifle caliber silhouette match, which was yesterday.
I was not expecting much as I have never used this rifle in Sil, before & our home range is limited to 100Y, but was pretty confident in where to hold for the 150Y turkeys & 200Y rams.
It turned out that the one load that I was not particularly comfortable with was the pigs & I missed THREE of them!
Some how I still pulled out a 30, but there was another 30 and a pair of 31s tieing for 1st & second.
But at least the 8 rams that I hit went down quick!
My shooting partner shooting a 30-30 hit a ram & the ricochet 馃槻 knocked a second one down! Go figure?
It does feel like it wants to shoot in the low 30's IF I can get a better pig load together:rolleyes:?

Registered
Great success story, I absolutely love mine and have gotten 30 in the last two matches too! You may have seen my write up, and yes even going slow they knock the rams flat, more than I can say for the 30-30. Congratulations again, you were only one away from the win,and they are such a joy to shoot. Do you have any load details, and or a couple pictures from the great match?

Sent from my SM-A505U using Tapatalk

Registered
Discussion Starter #3