Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,001 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have no experience with this caliber but let me tell you what happened. I went to my local gun shop after work tonight looking for a Williams peep sight for my 444ss. I found one and the clerks says that it was on sale for 10% off, in fact everything in the store is 10% off..Well now you know I have to start a lookin' at the guns. I come across the Marlins and find 2 336CB's in 38/55 one for $529 and the other for $519..hmmm, I figure the $519 has been on the rack longer..Now this is where it really gets good..I pick it up and must state this is probably the sweetest Marlin I have EVER brought to my shoulder. Picking up the rifle for about $468 even makes it better.

Now I reload so hopefully this is not a problem? And I have a 30/30 and 444 already. What kind of cartdridge am I looking at? What advantage over the 30/30 does it have? And what kind of ballistics should I expect? The sale ends Sunday so respond quick? :wink:

·
Premium Member
9,145 Posts
OOOOHHHH, my friend you got your self one heck of a rifle!! With hand loads you can get some real getter loads. I got my 38/55 over a year ago and will most likely carry it most of time this deer season.

I had tried loads with the Hornady .357 220 gr bullet. They shot ok I have a couple loads with that bullet that shoot very well.
I tried the Barnes .377 255 gr bullet and nothing shot worth a damn.
Then I tried the bullet that Stone Fence makes. It is a .378 250 grain jacketed Flat point. It will shoot large ragged holes, and it is one deer killer! I shot a big doe at about 170 yards last year and it up ended her flipped her right over on her back. It is a great cartridge.

The load I use is the .378 250 gr JFP that Stone fence makes with 37.5 grains of H335 and a CCI 200 primer with Winchester Brass.

If you want to get a hold of Stone Fence let me know and I can PM his email to you.

·
Premium Member
7,244 Posts