Marlin Firearms Forum banner

357 Mag?

10K views 29 replies 24 participants last post by  Golfbuddy45 
#1 ·
Does any one hunt with a 357mag? I was thinking of saling my 1895GBL andbuying a 357 rifle eather a Marlin or a Ruger M77/357. I just have never hunted with that small of a calaber. I will be casting my bullets most of the time.:hmmmm:

#2 ·
Hey there tcrocker, I am no expert and I don't hunt with the .357 at the time, but only cause I haven't gotten around to it. I have an 1894 in .44 that I've hunted with great success and now am looking at getting another 1894 in .357 to hunt deer and hogs with. I wouldn't feel under gunned hunting with the .357 especially in a carbine or using good ammo. I hope this helps.

#5 ·
tcrocker Yes they are just to fun to leave home :biggrin: I bought mine for short shots on black tail deer... but it does coyotes and rabbits good.
Took it for a 3hr walk in the snow today.:hmmmm: I'd walk a mile for a coyote :vollkommenauf: Snow Revolver
Snow Winter Tree Natural environment Freezing
Sky Cloud Atmosphere Atmospheric phenomenon Water

#6 ·
I have killed 2 deer and 1 bear with a 357 magnum- my S&W model 586 6" barrel. I'm calling it marginal for deer and not a good idea for bear. I was using 158 grain hard cast bullets that went all the way through the bear- well, 4 of them did. 1 stopped on spine- which I was glad for.

I hot rodded that gun. Had to have the barrel turned down after about 150 of those rounds. Now we stick with XTPs at normal velocities.

M

#7 ·
My wife would beg to differ that my 1894 CB LTD is too light for whitetails. She downed a nice little buck the very first week I had the thing - with open sights no less. She's dropped two more since in the past couple of years and my son killed his second deer with the same rifle before he grandpa gave him a Winchester 30-30 this past Christmas.