Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
5,115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My son and I hunt deer in Ohio, which is a straight-walled cartridge state for deer hunting. He is interested in buying a bolt gun for Ohio deer hunting. Either caliber is available in that platform (he's not interested in the AR platform). This rifle's use would be Ohio deer only, as he has a .30/06 for hunting deer (or any other quarry) in other states. Of the two calibers, which would you recommend?

·
Registered
7,263 Posts
Like Vooch states, it is hard to make a recommendation without knowing what type of hunting your son will be doing. I would lean to the 450 Bushmaster for most woods hunting. The 350 legend for open fields and longer distances as you will have less hold over than the 450 Bushmaster.

·
Registered
2,901 Posts
Well I can tell you this from experience with the 450 Bushmaster. Within 50 yards its as potent as my 45-70.
I have no experience with the 350 Legend but from videos I've seen and other forums looks like an excellent hunting round.
450 Bushmaster does have quite a kick, and is probably more than a deer hunter "needs" but it sure does a good job

·
Super Moderator
23,807 Posts
Not sure how the 350 will turn out long term.( Remember the 307, 356, 375?). Big splash but didn't float.

Papalote
:dito: I would wait on the 350 until it actually has staying power on the open market. Remember how big the 224 Valkyrie was recently? One can't find ammo for it locally now.

·
Premium Member
All kinds. Enamored of their mechanisms!
10,940 Posts
Flashes in the pan.

What is out there for the last 100 years or so will suffice for almost any needs.