Marlin Firearms Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up an almost new (20 rounds fired), very clean 336CB in 38/55 for $400.00 last week. I thought it was a pretty good deal and after taking it to the range this afternoon I have to say I'm smitten; my new rifle is just too much fun to shoot!

Before I made the purchase I read a bunch of posts on this site and the enthusiasim of the 38/55 fans helped make my decision. Thanks for that. Now I need some advice on getting into reloading and was hoping some of you might have some advice on what reloading rigs have worked well for you and what might be wise to avoid. To clarify things when it comes to reloading I'm a newbie but I'd like to get a good quality set up that is relatively easy to get the hang of and that I can use with my 45/70.

Any advice is appreciated and what do ya'll think - did I get a good deal?
Thanks for your time!

·
Premium Member
9,145 Posts
No doubt a good deal.
The initial cost of reloading gear may look steep at first, but figure all that you will save over a life time and it pays for its self. I have been reloading with a single stage RCBS Rockchucker press for over 20 years and have no need to change it still works great. I did get the Lyman 38/55 dies and have found them to work well for the 38/55.

Are you going to shoot lead or Jacketed bullets?
If shooting lead you can do a search and find several places to get them. I just got an order from Chy Cast Bullets, the look like good bullets I got them in .378 dia. I got those to just shoot for fun. As far as jacketed bullets I would get ahold of Stone Fence and get his 250 gr JFP bullet. It is .378 dia bullet and it shoots very well, kills deer nicely too. With any luck in a couple weeks I will have another deer shot with it. I found that H335 powder shot the best out of my rifle. I tried quite a few powders but none shot as well as the H335. Hope this helps. Enjoy that 38/55

·