Marlin Firearms Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm new here, and was hoping I could draw on your expertise.

I have a 336 Texan that had seen some hard use in the past, with damaged screw heads on nearly all screws, so I decided to order a bunch of new screws, a new extractor, new follower and follower spring, and give the old girl a bit of a refurbish. Well upon re-assembly, I realized that the lever would open about 0.5", and then hit a wall. I believe the locking bolt is not coming down far enough to release the lever, or something similar. I'm very new to the 336, so I wondered if I had re-assembled it incorrectly. The rifle functioned smoothly and flawlessly before I dis-assembled it, so I'm not sure what could be causing this. It seems like if I put lateral pressure on the lever to the left, I can sometimes get the lever to open all the way. Any tips or pointers? I'm not sure if the locking bolt is a custom grind-to-fit in each rifle, but mine has definitely been filed on before. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

·
Super Moderator
17,802 Posts
Welcome from Alabama...

The locking bolt is indeed a part that needs to be fit. It is what sets the headspace... There are also 2 screws that look very similar to each other that hold the trigger plate into the receiver... If you mix them up it will cause problems, The shorter one goes in the side and the longer one goes in the bottom...

This link goes to a thread for disassembly and re assembly of an 1895 but works for a 444 and 336 too... Have a look and maybe it will help...

https://www.marlinowners.com/forum/how-disassemble-clean/20184-disassembly-assembly-1895-pics.html

·
Super Moderator
16,940 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·